Are you a Martha or Mary?

As Jesus and his disciples

were on their way,

he came to a village

where a woman named Martha

opened her home to him.

She had a sister called Mary,

who sat at the Lord’s feet

listening to what he said.

But Martha was distracted

by all the preparations

that had to be made.

She came to him and asked,

“Lord, don’t you care

that my sister has left me

to do the work by myself?

Tell her to help me!”

“Martha, Martha,”

the Lord answered,

“you are worried and upset

about many things,

but few things are needed–

or indeed only one.

Mary has chosen

what is better,

and it will not

be taken away from her.

Luke 10:38:42

 

 

Martha opened her home to Jesus.

Martha was distracted with preparations.

Martha complained that her sister, Mary did not help her.

Mary sat at Jesus’ feet and listened to him.

Jesus told Martha, Mary has chosen better

and will not take it away from her.

Many times in life, we are so busy in preparations. We become stressed out in planning about events, ministries, church activities, different ways of service. We become too distracted and neglect the most important of all. As Jesus said, the only one that is needed–to come and listen to him. Receive the blessing, when we make time to LISTEN to what He really wants us to do. Not what we THINK we should do.

Do you rush through the day without even thanking God for giving you life, for another beautiful day?

I’m convicted. I do this. I do it many many times.

Lord, forgive me.

That is why what we do will not always fall in place. We will never be satisfied. It will always be chaotic or empty. At least, this is what happens to me. I never feel like I accomplish or it seems like I chase after wind.

At times when I do my solitude walk at the beginning of my day. I take a walk, pray and praise God in whatever I see, hear and feel, I can not explain the kind of peace that comes upon me. My day always turns out great, fulfilling and better than the other days.

Are you a Martha or Mary?

 

Leave a Reply

